July 30, 2021

Yoga Is An Art And Science Of Living – It Is About Your Body, Breath, Mind And Soul.

Engaging in regular fitness activity plays a vital role when it comes to maintaining good health. There are various physical fitness activities available but yoga occupies an important place among these activities. This is also very popular among celebrities around the world.

Origin of yoga can trace back to 5000 years to 10000 years according to the researchers. Back then yoga was mostly practised by Indus – Sarasvati civilization in northern  India. Over the periods this practice subject to many developments. In modern-day, this is considered to be the most effective and efficient form of fitness activity.

Yoga is derived from yuj. In Sanskrit yuj means roots, in attach or join. Since this practice is connected with mastering the disciplined physical, mental and spiritually altogether. So Yoga can be introduced as a union of these disciplines. There are different types of yoga styles such as Kundalini yoga, Vinyasa yoga, Hatha yoga, Iyengar yoga etc.

All these practices direct to one point that is stimulating certain energy points in our body. These points are called chakra. There are primarily seven points in our body.

  1. Muladhara / Root Chakra


The first chakra is the Muladhara which means Root Support. it also provides a foundation to the other chakras. As it suggests this point is located in the base of the spine. This point is mainly connected with our basic emotional and physical needs such as Security, Comfort, Sense of belonging and Provided. Since this is mostly connected with emotional needs this is also the foundation of mental health. Due to the traumatic experiences in the past, Depression, grief can cause the imbalance in Muladhara chakra. The element associated with the root chakra is earth so it connects with earth to balance this point. As suggested in yoga the below poses are some poses that can help to maintain the balance in Muladhara.

·       Pavanamuktasana / Wind- Relieving Pose

·       Padmasana / Lotus Pose

·       Tadasana / Mountain Pose

·       Shavasana / Corpse Pose 

      Four petal lotus with yellow colour square symbolises the Muladhara chakra. Maintaining the balance in Muladhara Chakra also helps to develop self – preservation.

2.              Svadhisthana / Sacral Chakra

   This point is located in the width of four fingers below the belly button. The element which represents the svadhisthana chakra is water and symbol of this chakra is a white lotus with six vermillion colour petals in which white crescent moon is inside. One who maintains the balance of Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra master in self – gratification. So this point of the body connected to passion, desire, emotion and creativity. Imbalance occurring in svadhisthana point can result in lower back pain, gynaecological problems, kidney problems in physical level and people with trust issues, depression, overly needy/dependent are more likely to experience imbalance in svadhisthana as well. Practising the below poses can provide some support to awake the svadhisthana chakra. Poses such as,

·       Kakasana / Crow pose

·       Trikonasana / Triangle pose

3.              Manipura / Solar Plexus Chakra

      Fire is the element which represents the Manipura Chakra. This chakra is the most affected among the others. This controls the digestive system that is why imbalance of manipura chakra causes ulcers, gastritis, liver diseases, blood sugar etc. Also imbalance in this point can make an impact on mentally for example a person might feel low self  esteem, sensitivity to criticism etc. There are certain yoga poses that can help to overcome the imbalance of manipura chakra. Some of poses are,

·       Plank

·       Warrior Pose 3

·       Bow Pose

      In the symbol Manipura chakra downward triangle in the middle of ten petal lotus indicate the fire and the Manipura chakra located close to the navel in the human body.

4.               Anahata / Heart Chakra

      Love, kindness, care, harmony, empathy are the power of heart chakra when it is overshadowed by negative thoughts and actions it causes the imbalance in heart chakra resulting in spreading it in the whole body. That’s where trust issues, hurt feelings, hatred started. Even it can heal from expressing the feelings there are certain yoga poses which help to cope with an imbalance of heart chakra. Such as

·       Bhujangasana / Cobra Pose

·       Matsyasana / Fish Pose

·       Salabhasana / Locust Pose

·       Ustrasana / Camel Pose

     Anahata chakra is an energy point located in the centre of the spine closer to the heart. The element of the Anahata is air and symbolically it is illustrated by twelve petal lotus in smoky background. In the symbol, there are intersecting triangles to illustrate the union of male and female. 

5.              Vishuddha / Throat Chakra

     Vishuddha Chakra is an energy point that serves as a purification centre located in the throat. This point is connected with communication, self-expression, creativity. Not only communicating externally but also internally. Imbalance in this energy effect on the communication both internally and externally. Lotus with sixteen petals represents the Vishuddha Chakra symbolically. In the middle of the lotus, it contains a circle centre of the downward-facing triangle. Space is the element associated with Vishuddha Chakra. In yoga practice, there are some poses which help to maintain the balance in this energy point.

·       Halasana / Plow Pose

·       Sarvangasana / Shoulder stand

6.              Ajna / Third Eye Chakra

        Third eye chakra is the sixth energy point which is located in the forehead. Third eye chakra or Ajna associated with vision, intuition, inspiration,  wisdom and so on. Its says that when you stimulate and maintain the balance in third eye chakra you can develop the ability to communicate with the past and future. But in general when there is an imbalance in this energy point a person can experience migrain, seizure, poor vision etc. yoga poses which can stimulate the third eye chakra are as follows.

·       Warrior 3 Pose

·       Dolphin Plank

·       Eagle Pose

·       DolphinPose

·       Child’s Pose

7.              Sahasrara / Crown Chakra

       This is the last energy point and also considered as the highest spiritual centre. It’s located in the crown. 

     To awaken this energy point you have to keep practising for a long period. To some level, this can be awakened. When awakened, a person develops a spiritual connection and gives self-realization as it says. And when the imbalance of crown chakra person can depend on the external condition and search happiness in material things excessively. Poses are practice to awake the crown chakra  are,

·       Headstand

·       Corpse pose

·       Rabbit  Pose

It’s important to maintain proper balance and coordination between above energy points in order to channel proper flow of energy in the body. Certain poses mansion above are advised to practice with proper under different circumstances.



View all posts by AyubowanLife →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: